About Us

The Alberta Gas and Oil Pipeline Operators Safety Council AGOPOSC is a group of employer representatives for the gas and oil pipeline operating companies in Alberta. The council was formed in 1980 in response to the high number of injuries and serious incidents in the oil and gas pipeline industry. The council has representation from a variety of gas and oil pipeline operations. The council supports the efforts of workplace health and safety in Alberta to improve the quality of safety on the pipeline industry.

The objective of the Alberta Gas and Oil Pipeline Operators Safety Council is the promotion of a greater understanding of the principles of occupational health and safety in gas and oil pipeline industry. The council endeavors to foster and encourage the practice of loss prevention and safety at work, home, and in the community, to share with all members, incident prevention and safety procedures, which have proven effective in reducing the incidence of loss or damage to people, equipment, materials and the environment, to maintain liaison with all agencies concerned with the promotion of health and safety in the work place and to encourage other employers to become members of the Council.

Membership on the council is open to any employer that is operating a gas and oil pipeline industry. Each employer member provides a representative and is entitled to vote on the issues that are brought forward through the council. A representative from Alberta Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour, ENFORM and the Alberta Energy Regulator, attend meetings for liaison purposes in an advisory capacity.

Meetings are hosted by member companies that are scheduled on the third (3rd) Thursday of February, June and October.

Currently there are twenty-two members on the council. They represent: Alberta Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour, Alberta AER, Alliance Pipeline, AltaGas Ltd., AltaGas Utilities Inc., ATCO Gas, ATCO Midstream, ATCO Pipelines, Cenovus, Enbridge Pipelines, ENFORM, Gibsons Energy, Husky Oil Energy, Interpipeline, Kinder Morgan Pipeline, National Energy Board of Canada, Niska Gas Storage, Pembina Pipeline, Progress Energy, Suncor Energy, TransCanada Pipelines Ltd., and Trans-Northern Pipelines Inc.